Health Department offering orientation training March 12 for prospective child care providers
- on March 5, 2013
Douglas County residents interested in learning more about operating a child care home are encouraged to attend the Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department’s child care licensing orientation training.
The three-hour training will begin at 1 p.m. March 12 in the first floor meeting room of the Community Health Facility, 200 Maine.
During the training, providers will learn about the Kansas Department of Health and Environment’s regulations, including paperwork requirements and the inspection process. Orientation training is a requirement before an application can be submitted.
Kansas law requires that homes be licensed or have a temporary permit when a provider has one or two children for more than 20 hours a week, or if they have more than three children. Licensing is not required when a family member provides care for a relative.
Cost of the training is $20 and payment is required in advance. To register for the orientation, call the Health Department at (785) 843-3060.