Health Department offering orientation class May 10 for prospective child care providers
- on May 9, 2016
Douglas County residents, who are interested in learning about operating a child care home or center, are encouraged to attend the Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department’s Child Care Licensing orientation class.
The three-hour class will begin at 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, May 10, at the Community Health Facility, 200 Maine St.
During the class, participants will learn about the Kansas Department of Health and Environment’s regulations, including paperwork requirements and the inspection process. The class is a requirement before an application can be submitted.
Kansas law requires that homes be licensed or have a temporary permit when a provider has one or two children for more than 20 hours a week, or if they have more than three children. Licensing is not required when a family member provides care for a relative.
Cost of the training is $20 and payment is required in advance. To register for the class or for more information, call the Health Department at 785-843-3060. Please register by 5 p.m. today, May 9!
The class is offered on the second Tuesday of each month. The next class will be June 14.